How Do I Get A Copy Of My Crash Report?
Were you involved in a car accident in Texas? Is your insurance company or attorney demanding more information to file a claim on your behalf? Did an official at the scene record vital information regarding the crash? If you answered yes to any of these questions, you need a reliable source to receive a certified copy of your official crash report at absolutely no cost to you.
Whether you are involved in a serious or minor crash, aside from checking on the well-being of everyone involved, the most important thing you should do is contact the police immediately to file an accident report.
Having pertinent information regarding the accident documented by an impartial law enforcement officer will help your case later on. Once an investigator arrives at the scene of the crash, they will document all pertinent information regarding the incident, such as:
- The precise location where the incident occurred.
- The identities and contact information for each party involved in the crash.
- Damages or injuries sustained in the accident
- Statement from any third-party witness of the crash.
- Weather and road conditions at the time of the crash.
- Any charges that are being filed against either party involved.
- Official narrative and diagrams collected at the crash scene.
what happens once an officer takes a report?
Once the official collects all of the information necessary to complete the crash report, they are required to turn it into the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) within 10 days of the accident. This agency is home to all crash reports filed in the state of Texas. They collect any and all reports filed for crashes that have occurred on public Texas roads and Highways.
The Texas Department of Transportation is required to hold on to all data and information collected in crash reports for up to 10 years after the crash takes place. TxDOT has a system in place for acquiring a copy of your crash report. However, it comes at a price.
- You may receive a standard copy at a cost of $6.
- If you need a certified copy for use in legal proceedings or for insurance purposes, the cost is $8.
While the state offers reasonable pricing for these materials, we believe you should never have to pay a fee when it comes to information that rightfully belongs to you. The last thing you need to worry about after being involved in an accident is minuscule or unnecessary fees for documents pertaining to your case. This is why we will never ask for payment to provide you with a certified copy of your accident report.
Common Questions about obtaining a crash report
According to The Texas Transportation Code §550.065, a certified copy of your crash report can be released to anyone that has involvement with your particular case. This includes, but is not limited to:
- Any individual directly involved in the crash such as the driver or passenger.
- The authorized attorney of those involved in the crash.
- A legal guardian of any individual involved in the crash.
- An employer of anyone involved.
- The lessee or owner of any property that was damaged in the crash.
- A representative from the insurance company of either party involved in the accident.
- Any radio or television station with the appropriate licensing.
- A qualified public media entity that is generally circulated and widely available to the general public such as a newspaper or online news site.
- Any individual that plans to file a wrongful death suit as a result of the crash.
- Any local or federal government agency.
There are a number of other circumstances in which an individual can obtain a copy of the official crash report with regards to your accident. Visit FreeTexasCrashReport.com to find out if you or someone you know qualifies.
There are several laws in place in the state of Texas to protect your privacy and personal information when it comes to acquiring a copy of your crash report. Therefore, crash reports are not available for the general public to view online at any time. Although, there are a number of channels you or your loved one can go through to obtain a certified copy of your crash report.
In Harris County, there are five locations, one for each district, in which you can get a copy of your crash report in person. This is a quick and efficient way to obtain a copy of your report as soon as you need it. While this process is quick and simple, it does come with a fee of $6 or $8 dollars as well depending on what type of report you need, so make sure to bring a check made payable to the City of Houston to your appointment.
- District 1 Substation: 6831 Cypresswood, Spring, Texas 7737 – (832) 927-2997
- District 2 Substation: 7900 Will Clayton, Humble, Texas 77338 – (281) 446-9155
- District 3 Substation: 14350 Wallisville, Houston, Texas 77049 – (713) 455-8050
- District 4 Substation: 16715 Clay Rd., Houston, Texas 77084 – (832) 927-7200
- District 5 Substation: 23828 Tomball Pkwy., Tomball, Texas 77375 – (832) 927-2140
You can acquire a certified copy of your crash report by mail through the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Records Division. First, you must allow 5 to 8 business days after your accident report is filed in order for it to be processed and added to the archive.
When your report has been processed and is made available, you need to provide at least two of the following in order to be verified and receive your copy:
- Date and time of the accident.
- The precise location of where the accident occurred.
- Full name of each party involved in the crash.
- Incident number (if possible)
Attach this information as well as a check for $6 or $8 made payable to the City of Houston in a self-addressed stamped envelope to the HPD, Records Division at 1200 Travis, Houston, TX 77002.
You will not be able to acquire a copy of your certified crash report solely by phone. However, if any questions happen to come up in the process of acquiring your crash report, you can contact the Houston Police Department Records Division by phone at (713) 308-8585.
How to get your crash report online
We understand that being involved in a crash is one of the most unfortunate and stressful things to happen to anyone. That is why we are committed to providing your crash report in a timely manner without ever charging a fee. Simply provide the required information and begin the process of receiving a certified copy of your completely free Texas Peace Officer’s Crash Report from the comfort of your own home today!
You can skip all headaches and unnecessary fees that come with getting your crash report through a government agency such as the Texas Department of Transportation by getting your crash report for FREE by completing a simple questionnaire. CLICK HERE to get started!